BOROUGH OF NAUGATUCK

BE IT ORDAINED, by the Board of Mayor and Burgesses, in a meeting duly assembled on September 2, 2014 that Ordinance #49 Chapter 15 – Planning, Article VII – Regional Council of Elected Officials, Sections 15-134 – 15-136 of the Code of Ordinances of the Borough of Naugatuck, Connecticut is hereby repealed and Ordinance #127 is hereby adopted, to read as follows:

Ordinance #127

Chapter 15 – Planning, Article VII – Ordinance Regarding Adoption of Connecticut General Statute §§4-124i – 4-124p Pertaining to Creating and Joining the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments, Sections 15-134 – 15-140.

WHEREAS, the Borough of Naugatuck has heretofore been a designated municipality within the Central Naugatuck Valley Planning Region; and,

WHEREAS, as an eligible member the borough adopted Ordinance #49, entitled, "Regional Council of Elected Officials", voted and adopted on July 8, 1970 by the Board of Mayor and Burgesses, joining the Council of Governments for the Central Naugatuck Valley ("COGCNV") as a regional council of elected officials and remains a member at the present time; and,

WHEREAS, the State of Connecticut has determined that a reorganization and redesignation of planning districts shall be completed on or before January 1, 2015; and,

WHEREAS, said reorganization recommended the consolidation of the Central Naugatuck Valley Planning Region (comprised of the following municipalities: Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Cheshire, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Prospect, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Woodbury) and Valley Planning Region (comprised of the following municipalities: Ansonia, Derby, Seymour and Shelton) into a Naugatuck Valley Planning District; and,

WHEREAS, said Naugatuck Valley Planning District additionally includes the City of Bristol and Town of Plymouth; and,

WHEREAS, on or about October 11, 2013 COGCNV and on December 17, 2013 the Valley Council of Governments both approved the voluntary consolidation of the two regions; and,

WHEREAS, on or about December 24, 2013 the Office of Policy and Management approved the requested and redesignated the Central Naugatuck Valley and Valley Planning Regions into the Naugatuck Valley Planning Region; and,

WHEREAS, the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments ("NVCOG") operating within the newly established Planning Region will commence operations on January 1, 2015; and,

WHEREAS, the Borough of Naugatuck would like to participate in the creation of NVCOG as the council of governments for the Naugatuck Valley Planning Region by (1) approving an ordinance pursuant to C.G.S. §4-124j adopting C.G.S. §§4-124i-4-124p; (2) filing a certified copy of the adopting ordinance with the Office of Policy and Management of the State of Connecticut ("OPM"); and, (3) upon certification by the Secretary of OPM participating in the operation of the transitional executive committee of NVCOG, which transitional period shall conclude on December 31, 2014 at 11:59:59 PM; and,

WHEREAS, the Borough of Naugatuck (1) shall remain a member of COGCNV as it continues to operate and wind down as a council of elected officials until December 31, 2014 and participates in the negotiation of the terms and conditions pertinent to the operation of NVCOG prior to January 1, 2015; and, (2) recognizes the necessity of the current members of COGCNV to remain in operation as an unincorporated association of municipalities in order to wind down the affairs and assets of COGCNV that are either not assigned to and integrated within the operations of NVCOG and which the municipalities believe need to remain separate and distinct from NVCOG: and,

WHEREAS, the Borough of Naugatuck recognizes that its historic region is the Naugatuck River Valley consisting of the towns of Naugatuck, Beacon Falls, Oxford, Seymour, Ansonia, Derby and Shelton.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT ORDAINED, AS FOLLOWS:

Sec. 15-134. Creation of Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

The Borough of Naugatuck hereby joins with such municipalities of the Naugatuck Valley Planning Region, as designated by the Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management of the State of Connecticut, to create a regional council of governments to be known as the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments by adopting the provisions of C.G.S. \$

Sec. 15-135. Transitional Provision. Certification by the Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management. Transitional Executive Committee and Transitional Period.

(a) Upon certification by the secretary of said Office of Policy and Management that at least sixty percent of the municipalities in the planning region have adopted ordinances creating a regional council of government, as required by the Connecticut General Statutes, the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments shall be established. (b) Upon such certification, the transitional period shall commence. Said transitional period shall conclude on December 31, 2014 at 11:59:59 PM. During such period the borough shall participate in the Transitional Executive Committee for the purposes set forth in the Connecticut General Statutes. The mayor shall be a member of the Transitional Executive Committee. In the absence of the mayor, the legislative body of the borough shall appoint an elected official to serve as a member. The mayor may send a representative in his or her stead; however, such representative shall not be a member of said executive committee.

(c) This section shall expire at the conclusion of the transitional period and thereafter be void and of no force and effect.

Sec. 15-136. Membership in the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

On and after January 1, 2015, the borough shall be a member of the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

Sec. 15-137. Powers and Duties of the Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

The Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments shall have such powers, purposes, rights, duties and responsibilities as shall be set forth in the Connecticut General Statutes.

Sec. 15-138. Representative to the Naugatuck Valley Council of Government.

The mayor shall be the representative of the borough to the council of governments. In the absence of the mayor, the legislative body of the borough shall appoint an elected official to serve as a member. The mayor may send an alternate in his or her stead; however, such alternate shall be entitled to such rights as may be established by the council of governments. The borough shall be entitled to one vote in the affairs of the council of governments.

Sec. 15-139. The Council of Governments of the Central Naugatuck Valley, Successor Association.

The borough shall remain a member of Council of Governments for the Central Naugatuck Valley as it continues to operate and wind down as a council of elected officials until December 31, 2014. The borough shall also participate with the current members of council of elected officials in an unincorporated association of such municipalities in order to wind down the affairs and assets of the Council of Governments of the Central Naugatuck Valley that are either not assigned to and integrated within the operations of Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments.

Sec. 15-140. Repeal of Prior Ordinances.

On or after January 1, 2015 the following ordinance provisions regarding the council of elected officials shall be repealed:

a. Ordinance #49 entitled, "Regional Council of Elected Officials", Chapter 15, Article VII, Sections 15-134, 15-135, and 15-136, effective 1973, voted and adopted on July 8, 1970.

This Ordinance shall be effective upon publication.

Nancy K. DiMeo, Borough Clerk

Adopted September 2, 2014 – Effective September 14, 2014 Printed 9/11/2014 and 9/14/2014