
 
 
 
 

Effective July 1, 2018 
 

Applying for a Marriage or a Civil Union License in Naugatuck 

 

In order to apply in Naugatuck, you must be getting married/united in 
Naugatuck.  Each applicant must have a photo ID.  Both parties must 
appear in person to sign the license, under oath, in the presence of one of the 
office Registrars. The fee to obtain a Marriage License is $50.  Once issued, 
the license expires 65 days after the initial date of application.  Applicants do 
not have to appear at the same time, however, the 65-day period of license validity 
begins on the day that the first person applies.  With the exception of holidays, 
applications are accepted Monday through Friday, from 8:45 AM to 3:30 PM.  
The complete process of application and transcription takes about 30 minutes. 
 
As part of the application process, both parties must provide the following 
information: 
 

 Date of Marriage or Civil Union 

 Officiator=s Name and Phone Number 

 Social Security Numbers 

 Each Parent=s Place of Birth 

 Mother=s Birth (Maiden) Name 

 Years of Education 
 
Following the marriage ceremony, the Officiator must sign the license and file it in 
Naugatuck, where the original document will remain as a permanent record of the 
event.  Once filed, certified copies of the official record may be obtained in 
Naugatuck.  If the applicant(s) reside in another Connecticut town, copies 
of the record will also be available from the resident town(s).  By law, 
resident town copies are required to be transmitted by the 15th day of the month 
following the wedding.  Prior to requesting a Connecticut resident copy, you 
should call the Town Clerk to verify that the transmitted copy has been received 
from the town where the wedding took place. 
  

 
The statutory fee for each certified copy of a filed Marriage License is $20. 

 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Notice regarding recent statutory changes:  Effective October 1, 2009, the statutory fee for a 
certified copy of a filed Marriage License will increase to $20.  The State Legislature is also 
considering an increase in the Marriage License application fee.  After October 1, 2009, couples 
applying to be married/united may only do so in the town in which the event will take place. 


